Book Review — In This Moment

4 Jun

I absolutely loved When The Day Comes by Gabrielle Meyer, so when I was given the opportunity to read the second book in the Timeless series, In This Moment, I grabbed it! While it’s possible to read In This Moment on its own, I recommend you begin at the beginning — you do not want to miss a moment of this series.

Maggie inherited a gift from her time-crossing parents that allows her to live three separate lives in 1861, 1941, and 2001. Each night, she goes to sleep in one time period and wakes up in another. Until she turns twenty-one, when she will have to forfeit two of those lives–and everyone she knows in them–forever. 

In 1861, Maggie is the daughter of a senator at the outbreak of the Civil War, navigating a capital full of Southern spies and wounded soldiers. In 1941, she is a navy nurse, grappling with her knowledge of the future when she joins a hospital ship going to Pearl Harbor. And in 2001, she’s a brilliant young medical student, fulfilling her dream of becoming a surgeon.

While Maggie has sworn off romance until she makes her final choice, an intriguing man tugs at her heart in each era, only complicating the impossible decision she must make, which looms ever closer. With so much on the line, how can Maggie choose just one life to keep and the rest to lose?

Gabrielle Meyer lives in central Minnesota on the banks of the upper Mississippi River with her husband and four children. As an employee of the Minnesota Historical Society, she fell in love with the rich history of her state and enjoys writing fictional stories inspired by real people, places, and events. You can learn more about Gabrielle and her books at

Find Gabrielle on Facebook at, Pinterest at, Twitter at, Goodreads, and her Website at

My Impressions:

I loved the first book in Gabrielle Meyer’s Timeless series, When The Day Comes. When I learned that book 2, In This Moment was available, I jumped at the chance to read it. The books are part historical fiction, part romance, and part time-travel, which the author has wonderfully wrapped up in an intriguing read that I just could not put down! Book 2 features the first person voice of Margaret/Maggie,/Meg, daughter of main character Libby from book 1. Maggie has not just two paths to live but three. As her twenty-first birthday approaches Maggie must decide if she will stay in 1861, 1941, or 2001. I am not going to elaborate on the rules of time-crossing — that’s part of the fun of the novel — but will say that Maggie is aware of the importance of two of her paths. Only the reader knows what she will encounter in 2001. The history in this book is fabulous. If that was all there was to her story it would be enough, but Meyer introduces romance too! But that’s not all. Maggie knows she has a purpose for her life; she just needs to decide which time period best fulfills her desires and God’s will. I know this sounds really complicated, but the narrative flows effortlessly. I never was confused by the time period change — Maggie is Maggie in each era. There are twists and turns galore which Maggie faces with fear, doubts, grief, hope, and faith — everything a non-time-crossing person faces in life. 😉 I approved of Maggie’s choice, and loved how Meyer wrapped it all up. There’s a teaser at the end that sets up book 3. Can. Not. Wait!

Don’t be daunted by the time travel aspect of In This Moment. It all comes together in wonderful ways that will keeping you thinking about this book for a long time. Get a reading buddy or two and settle in for some riveting reading.

Very Highly Recommended.

Great for Book Clubs.

Audience: Adults and Older Teenagers.

(Thanks to Bethany House for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

%d bloggers like this: