Book Review: Two Steps Forward

13 Feb

Back and broke in Stoney Ridge, Jimmy Fisher has coasted as long as he could through life on charm, good looks, and deep-set dimples. They always worked just fine for him — until they didn’t. His smile has no effect on the violet-eyed beauty he met at the Bent N’ Dent, the one with that stunning horse. She’s offered him a job, but nothing else.

The last thing Sylvie Schrock King needs around Rising Star Farm is a grown boy working for her, especially her neighbor Edith’s son. The woman holds a serious grudge against Sylvie and her son, and hiring Jimmy Fisher will only fan the flames of Edith’s rancor. But Sylvie is desperate for help on the farm, and Jimmy understands horses like no one else.

While Jimmy’s lazy smile and teasing ways steal Sylvie’s heart, Edith is working on a way to claim her land. Has Sylvie made another terrible mistake? Or is it too late to outfox the fox? More importantly . . . just who is the fox?

Writing with both wit and warmth, Fisher delivers a supremely satisfying conclusion to the popular Deacon’s Family series.

Carol-award winner Suzanne Woods Fisher writes untold stories about inspiring people. With over one million copies of her books sold worldwide, she is the bestselling author of fiction and non-fiction, ranging from Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World to the historical novel Anna’s Crossing.


My Impressions:

Two Steps Forward is the very satisfying conclusion to the Deacon’s Family series by Suzanne Woods Fisher. With her trademark easy style and wit, I enjoyed my return to the Stoney Ridge community and the characters I have grown very fond of throughout this series. There are a few newcomers in this book, but fans of Fisher’s other books will be glad to see the return of Jimmy Fisher who has in some ways grown up since he left the Amish community for Colorado years before. This book was just what I needed to read — sweet and gentle, yet with spiritual truths that spoke to my heart. Recommended!

The Deacon’s Family series has been a treat to read. I have enjoyed seeing Luke Schrock grow in his role as deacon, as well as husband. Several years have passed since the storyline in book 2, Stitches in Time, concluded. Luke’s cousin has moved to Stoney Ridge to find a place for herself and her young son. Jimmy Fisher’s return home impacts Sylvie’s life and future. Relationships are a strength in this novel, and I enjoyed seeing the interactions between husband and wife, family members, and friends. Like any community or family, there are plenty of squabbles, but the way the Amish in this book handled them was refreshing and a reminder of how Christ wants His people to interact. The theme of putting hands and feet to our convictions was also very moving, as the community steps out in faith to impact the world around them, even as they believe they should be set apart. I loved Fisher’s use of the Amish as a study of how all of God’s people can make a difference just one life at a time.

Although Two Steps Forward can be read as a standalone, I recommend starting this series with book 1. They character development and the story lines naturally flow from one book to another. And with 3 published, you’ll have plenty of good reading ahead!


Audience: adults.

(Thanks to Revell for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)



%d bloggers like this: