First Line Friday — The Debutante’s Code

3 Dec

This weekend I have a historical mystery on the agenda. The Debutante’s Code is a Regency-era novel by Erica Vetsch. I look forward to some great reading. What are you reading this weekend?

Here’s the first line:

“If you lean out any farther, you’ll wind up in the drink.”

Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this new Regency mystery series

Newly returned from finishing school, Lady Juliette Thorndike is ready to debut in London society. Due to her years away, she hasn’t spent much time with her parents, and sees them only as the flighty, dilettante couple the other nobles love. But when they disappear, she discovers she never really knew them at all. They’ve been living double lives as government spies–and they’re only the latest in a long history of espionage that is the family’s legacy.

Now Lady Juliette is determined to continue their work. Mentored by her uncle, she plunges into the dangerous world of spy craft. From the glittering ballrooms of London to the fox hunts, regattas, and soirees of country high society, she must chase down hidden clues, solve the mysterious code her parents left behind, and stay out of danger. All the while, she has to keep her endeavors a secret from her best friend and her suitors–not to mention nosy, irritatingly handsome Bow Street runner Daniel Swann, who suspects her of a daring theft.

Can Lady Juliette outwit her enemies and complete her parents’ last mission? Or will it lead her to a terrible end?

Best-selling author Erica Vetsch is back with a rollicking, exciting new series destined to be a hit with Regency readers who enjoy a touch of mystery in their love stories. Fans of Julie Klassen, Sarah Ladd, and Anne Perry will love the wit, action, and romance. 

Best-selling, award-winning author Erica Vetsch loves Jesus, history, romance, and sports. She’s a transplanted Kansan now living in Minnesota, and she married her total opposite and soul mate! When she’s not writing fiction, she’s planning her next trip to a history museum and cheering on her Kansas Jayhawks and New Zealand All Blacks. You can connect with her at her website, http://www.ericavetsch.com where you can read about her books and sign up for her newsletter, and you can find her online at https://www.facebook.com/EricaVetschAuthor/ where she spends way too much time!

5 Responses to “First Line Friday — The Debutante’s Code”

  1. Nicole Santana December 3, 2021 at 2:34 pm #

    Happy Friday!
    I’m currently in the middle of To Treasure an Heiress by Roseanna White. It’s SO good!
    “Mam came to a halt beside her, close enough that Senara could feel her there, feel the warmth of her. ‘Why,’ she said softly, ‘do I have the feeling that this upset isn’t only about Beth?'”
    Hope you have a great weekend. Happy reading!

  2. Cindy Davis December 3, 2021 at 2:40 pm #

    I am reading/sharing the exact same book today! Happy reading!

  3. Paula Shreckhise December 3, 2021 at 5:57 pm #

    Well, we are twins today!
    The Debutante’s Code by Erica Vetsch:
    January 31, 1816
    “If you lean out any farther, you’ll wind up in the drink.”

  4. Gretchen December 3, 2021 at 9:09 pm #

    This looks like an intriguing new mystery! I just started Dead Fall by Nancy Mehl and am having a hard time putting it down.

  5. Danielle Grandinetti December 4, 2021 at 2:24 pm #

    I enjoyed The Debutante’s Code! I’m currently reading Christmas Vendetta by Valerie Hanson: “Sandy Lynn Forrester woke abruptly.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: