Book Review: The Heat Is On

30 Jul

When western Alaska erupts in a devastating fire, the elite firefighting crew of the Jude County Smokejumpers is called in to save the day. They’ll do anything to stop the fire, including fighting alongside a crew of local prisoners.

The last thing they expect is a jailbreak and when the prisoners disappear into the forest with one of their own, they’ll have to fight not only the fire, but for the freedom of their friends…during the Summer of the Burning Sky.

Book 2: The Heat is On

FBI Agent Rio Parker is tired of playing the bad guy, even if it is for a good reason. Undercover with a group of prisoners to babysit a federal informant, he can’t believe he’s been enlisted to fight a forest fire…or sucked into a prison break. Worse—a female smokejumper has been kidnapped. Now, he’ll have to protect her from a rapist, keep his informant from escaping, and stay out of the gunsights of the US Marshal hot on his trail.

Smokejumper Skye Doyle knew trouble was brewing when the group of prisoners joined the firefight. She never expected, however, to be kidnapped during their breakout. But can she trust a hardened felon to keep her safe? Except, Rio is not who he seems, and when his identity is uncovered, she must decide if she can trust a man who has been lying to her…

But staying alive on the run isn’t their only problem, they’ll have to learn to trust each other if they hope to survive in book 2 of the Summer of the Burning Sky.


With over 1 million books sold, critically acclaimed novelist Susan May Warren is the Christy, RITA and Carol award-winning author of over forty-five novels with Tyndale, Barbour, Steeple Hill and Summerside Press. Known for her compelling plots and unforgettable characters, Susan has written contemporary and historical romances, romantic-suspense, thrillers, rom-com and Christmas novellas.

With books translated into eight languages, many of her novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. She’s a three time RITA finalist and an eight time Christy Finalist.

Of her books, Publisher’s Weekly has written, “Warren lays bare her characters’ human frailties, including fear, grief, and resentment, as openly as she details their virtues of love, devotion, and resiliency. She has crafted an engaging tale of romance, rivalry, and the power of forgiveness.”

And Library Journal adds, “Warren’s characters are well-developed and she knows how to create a first rate contemporary romance…”

Susan is also a nationally acclaimed writing coach, teaching at conferences around the nation and winner of the 2009 American Christian Fiction Writers Mentor of the Year award. She loves to help people launch their writing careers and is the founder of and, a writing website that helps authors get published and stay published. She’s also the author of the popular writing method, The Story Equation.


My Impressions:

The action continues in Susan May Warren’s second book in the Summer of The Burning Sky series. The novella length of The Heat Is On may be short on pages, but it is long on adrenaline-laced suspense and sizzling romance. The story takes up somewhere in the middle of book 1, but this time the focus is on Skye, a smokejumper, and Rio Parker, one of the men in the prison work detail. As they are drawn into the prison-break, they must join forces to stay alive.

Not everything is as it seems with Rio Parker. Skye senses that and feels sure that a light lives on deep inside. Readers will love the hot, hot chemistry between the two. Rest assured that The Heat Is On is Christian fiction (no graphic or inappropriate behavior), but there is definitely heat between the two. Both characters live with regrets that influence their current actions. Skye lives with the regret of unforgiveness and Rio with past actions he believed justify the end results of justice. As the danger increases, they come to rely on each other and on God. Psalm 23 and the pursuit by God is the message that runs throughout. The suspense keeps the reader on the edge of her seat; I loved every minute of it! A lot of the storyline introduced first in book 1 and continued in The Heat Is On is resolved. But . . . enough is left leaving me eagerly awaiting book 3, Some Like It Hot, releasing August 2018.

The Heat Is On is the perfect accompaniment for a weekend of fun reading. Make sure to read book 1, Light My Fire, first though. You won’t want to miss out on any of this series.


Audience: adults.

To purchase, click HERE.

(Thanks to the author for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)