Book Review: Light My Fire

26 Jul

When western Alaska erupts in a devastating fire, the elite firefighting crew of the Jude County Smokejumpers is called in to save the day. They’ll do anything to stop the fire, including fighting alongside a crew of local prisoners.

The last thing they expect is a jailbreak and when the prisoners disappear into the forest with one of their own, they’ll have to fight not only the fire, but for the freedom of their friends…during the Summer of the Burning Sky.

Book 1: Light My Fire

Former bad-boy Tucker Newman has learned his lesson—as the temporary team leader of the Jude County Smokejumpers, he’s all about following the rules to keep his team safe. Especially when he has to partner with a group of local low-security prisoners to knock down the raging fire. But the prisoners are not who they seem, and when they stage a break, kidnapping one of his teammates, he’ll have to break every rule he knows to get her back.

US Marshal Stevie Mills knows that to get the job done, she must work alone. She simply can’t risk another person getting hurt because of her. When she discovers that a wanted fugitive accused of rape and murder has not only been set free to fight the fire — but is now on the lam with a hostage– the last thing she needs is a zealous smokejumper getting in the way of her pursuit.

Whether they like it or not, Tucker and Stevie must join forces if they hope to save lives, and in the meantime, they just might discover a new definition for the word teamwork, in book 1 of the Summer of the Burning Sky.

With over 1 million books sold, critically acclaimed novelist Susan May Warren is the Christy, RITA and Carol award-winning author of over forty-five novels with Tyndale, Barbour, Steeple Hill and Summerside Press. Known for her compelling plots and unforgettable characters, Susan has written contemporary and historical romances, romantic-suspense, thrillers, rom-com and Christmas novellas.

With books translated into eight languages, many of her novels have been ECPA and CBA bestsellers, were chosen as Top Picks by Romantic Times, and have won the RWA’s Inspirational Reader’s Choice contest and the American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year award. She’s a three time RITA finalist and an eight time Christy Finalist.

Of her books, Publisher’s Weekly has written, “Warren lays bare her characters’ human frailties, including fear, grief, and resentment, as openly as she details their virtues of love, devotion, and resiliency. She has crafted an engaging tale of romance, rivalry, and the power of forgiveness.”

And Library Journal adds, “Warren’s characters are well-developed and she knows how to create a first rate contemporary romance…”

Susan is also a nationally acclaimed writing coach, teaching at conferences around the nation and winner of the 2009 American Christian Fiction Writers Mentor of the Year award. She loves to help people launch their writing careers and is the founder of and, a writing website that helps authors get published and stay published. She’s also the author of the popular writing method, The Story Equation.


My Impressions:

Light My Fire is the first book in the exciting Summer of The Burning Sky series by Susan May Warren. Warren’s forte is action-packed romantic suspense, and this novella certainly delivers. With hunky heroes and capable heroines, this one is just the right length for a quick summer getaway. It is a recommended read!

The setting of Light My Fire is the Alaskan wilderness near Denali. Fires are popping up everywhere, and smokejumpers are ready to tackle the difficult and dangerous job. But the danger is ramped up when a group of low-risk prisoners sent in to help become anything but low-risk. The focus of the book is the relationship between Stevie, a federal marshall, and Tucker, the leader of the smokejumper crew. They are determined to do their jobs well. Their present circumstances demand it, but their past decisions provide the drive. I loved these two passionate characters. The chemistry between them is as hot as the fires they encounter. Light My Fire takes the reader on a fast-paced, danger-filled adventure. The characters and the reader never know just what or who might be behind the next boulder or stand of trees. Warren also weaves a faith thread throughout the book that gives it a depth I appreciated. While Stevie and Tucker pursue the bad guys, they (and the reader) are reminded of the relentless pursuit that God has of us.

Light My Fire is just the first installment in a continuing storyline. I am eager to get back to the action with The Heat Is On.


Audience: adults.

To purchase, click HERE.

(Thanks to the author for a complimentary copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)

One Response to “Book Review: Light My Fire”


  1. Top 10 Tuesday — The Back to School Edition | By The Book - August 28, 2018

    […] The Summer of The Burning Sky trilogy by Susan May Warren […]

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: