Book Review: A Heart’s Promise

27 Jul

UnknownEmmie makes a promise to her friend that, if fulfilled, could mean the end to her dreams of a future with Isaac.

Emmie Croftner let Isaac Liddle go to avoid telling him about her past. But Isaac remains determined to win Emmie’s heart and hand. Though Emmie resolves to keep her heart in check, it hurts when she sees that another woman has set her bonnet for Isaac.

Then Emmie’s dear friend extracts a costly promise: if anything happens to her in childbirth, Emmie will marry her widower and raise the baby herself. And it seems Emmie may have to fulfill that promise. But can she live happily without Isaac?


ccoble-110USA Today bestselling author Colleen Coble has written several romantic suspense novels including Tidewater Inn, Rosemary Cottage, and the Mercy Falls, Lonestar, and Rock Harbor series.


My Impressions:

Colleen Coble’s 6-book Journey of The Heart series has provided me an uneven reading experience. The first 3 books were okay, but I really enjoyed book 4, A Heart’s Betrayal, which focuses on Emmie Croftner. Emmie’s story is unique, and I was looking forward to more time spent with this determined heroine. Her abuse at the hands of the men in her life have left Emmie distrustful of men in general and in God in particular. Unfortunately, A Heart’s Promise (book 5) was disappointing to me. Emmie’s new found faith occurs abruptly — I had to actually reread the passage to assure myself it had occurred. The romance between Emmie and Isaac is a hurried affair as well, seemingly put in for a tease for book 6.

While I didn’t like A Heart’s Promise, I am not giving up on the series. I really do want to know what will become of Emmie, Isaac and the other characters I have come to like.

Audience: older teens to adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE.

(Thanks to LitFuse and Thomas Nelson for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)