Book Review: A Heart’s Betrayal

17 Jun

A-Hearts-Betrayal-4-227x384Emmie finds shelter in the arms of a soldier, but her secret could drive them apart.
When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband’s home, she discovered an awful truth: her deceased husband was a bigamist. And what’s more, the home she thought she inherited never belonged to her at all.

Suddenly displaced, powerless, and ashamed, Emmie can’t stay in Wabash, Indiana. She makes a hopeful start for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, to find her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning. But when she arrives, she discovers she’s pregnant—and without a husband. The new start she’d hoped for slips from her fingers.

But then she meets Isaac Liddle, a handsome soldier with a kind heart. When he begins to court her, Emmie wonders whether she could ever really be his—and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man’s baby.


CCoble-110USA Today bestselling author Colleen Coble has written several romantic suspense novels including Tidewater Inn, Rosemary Cottage, and the Mercy Falls, Lonestar, and Rock Harbor series.


My Impressions:

A Heart’s Betrayal, book 4 in the 6-part Journey of The Heart series by Colleen Coble, continues the adventure, danger and romance of the taming of the West. Some favorite characters return, while new characters arrive to capture the reader’s heart. A quick read that will appeal to fans of historical romance, this one is the best so far.

Emmie Croftner (she’s the younger sister of bad guy Ben Croftner) is dealt a blow when she learns that her late husband was living a double life. Left without money, friends or family, Emmie heads west in the hope of a new start. Vowing to never trust a man again, she finds that her heart may betray her promise.

I liked Emmie’s character a lot. The victim of deceit and manipulation from the hands of the men closest to her, she nevertheless picks up the pieces and boldly and bravely starts a new life. Her mistrust of men and the secret of her past keep her from opening up to her old friends and new acquaintances. But this is a romance series after all, so her resolve to stay away from men is weakened. Isaac Liddle makes a reappearance in this book and there is enough hunk-factor and mystery about him to appeal to the romance fan. A Heart’s Betrayal is a novella, so I will have to be satisfied with the next 2 books to find out how Emmie and Isaac’s relationship develops. From the first 4 books in the series, theirs should be a rocky road!


Audience: adults.

To purchase this book, click HERE.

(Thanks to LitFuse for a review copy. All opinions expressed are mine alone.)


Melt into summer with a new giveaway from Colleen: four books (books one–four in Colleen’s A Journey of the Heart series) and a box of chocolates to pair with your new books!

One grand prize winner will receive:
A copy of A Heart’s Betrayal
A box of Colleen’s favorite chocolate truffles from DeBrand Fine Chocolates
A copy of A Heart’s Disguise
A copy of A Heart’s Obsession
A copy of A Heart’s Danger

Enter today by clicking HERE. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 30th. Winner will be announced July 1st on Colleen’s website.

%d bloggers like this: