2011 Christy Award Nominees

7 May

Contemporary Romance

Blood Ransom by Lisa Harris (Zondervan)
Indivisible by Kristin Heitzmann (WaterBrook Press)
Sworn to Protect by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale House Publishers)

Series, Sequels, and Novellas

The Reluctant Prophet by Nancy Rue (David C. Cook)
The Thorn by Beverly Lewis (Bethany House Publishers)
The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Revell Books)
Contemporary Standalone
Almost Heaven by Chris Fabry (Tyndale House Publishers)
Lady in Waiting by Susan Meissner (WaterBrook Press)
A Season of Miracles by Rusty Whitener (Kregel Publications)

First Novel

Crossing Oceans by Gina Holmes (Tyndale House Publishers)
Heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl (Bethany House Publishers)
A Season of Miracles by Rusty Whitener (Kregel Publications)


Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther by Ginger Garrett (David C. Cook)
For Time & Eternity by Allison Pitman (Tyndale House Publishers)
While We’re Far Apart by Lynn Austin (Bethany House Publishers)
Historical Romance
The Girl in the Gatehousby Julie Klassen (Bethany House)
She Walks in Beauty by Siri Mitchell (Bethany House Publishers)
Within My Heart by Tamera Alexander (Bethany House Publishers)


The Bishop by Steven James (Revell Books)
The Bride Collector by Ted Dekker (Center Street)
Predator by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)


To Darkness Fled by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press)
Konig’s Fire by Marc Schooley (Marcher Lord Press)
The Last Christian by David Gregory (WaterBrook Press)

Young Adult

The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers (WaterBrook Press)
The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson (Zondervan)
Motorcycles, Sushi, and One Strange Book by Nancy Rue (Zondervan)


In the spring of 1999, nearly a dozen Christian publishers confirmed the need for establishing a Christian fiction award to recognize novelists and novels of excellence in several genres of Christian fiction.By late summer, ideas and planning had come together to launch The Christy Award, named in honor of Catherine Marshall’s novel and of her contribution to growth of the fiction Christians love to read. The Christy Award is designed to:
  • Nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishing of fiction written from a Christian worldview.
  • Bring a new awareness of the breadth and depth of fiction choices available, helping to broaden the readership.
  • Provide opportunity to recognize novelists whose work may not have reached bestseller status.

Catherine Marshall, writer of more than two dozen books and the subject of at least one biography, is one of America’s most notable and bestselling Christian writers.Her readers around the world know Catherine as “America’s most inspirational author,” as described inThe New York Times. More than 25 million copies of her books are in print. Nine years in the making and perhaps Catherines’s best-known work, the novel Christy has more than 10 million copies in print and is estimated to have been read by more than 30 million people.The Christy Awards is proud to honor both the novelist and her novel through this annual award recognizing Christian novels of excellence.

%d bloggers like this: