Series Spotlight: The Scottish Lowlands

28 Mar

Looking back on past posts, I have noticed I have included an inordinate amount of suspense/mystery.  So for you historical fans — this one is for you.

Liz Curtis Higgs is by far my favorite contemporary author.  I have taught her Bible studies, watched her videos and have read all but one of her fiction books.  My book club read the Lowlands of Scotland series several years ago.  Although not all the members are fans of historicals, Higgs series was a BIG hit.  If you haven’t read these books yet, you need to add them to the top of your TBR list.

Based on the Biblical story of Jacob, Rachel and Leah, the Lowlands of Scotland series sets the story in Scotland of the 18th century.  Rich in historical detail, the characters come alive for the reader.  Make sure all three books are available to you, because you will not want a break between reading them.

From Liz’s website:

Thorn In My Heart – book 1

Two brothers fight to claim one father’s blessing. Two sisters long to claim one man’s heart.

In the autumn of 1788, amid the moors and glens of the Scottish Lowlands, two brothers and two sisters each embark on a painful journey of discovery.

Jamie and Evan McKie both want their father Alec’s flocks and lands, yet only one brother will inherit Glentrool. Leana and Rose McBride both yearn to catch the eye of the same handsome lad, yet only one sister will be his bride.

A thorny love triangle emerges, plagued by lies and deception, jealousy and desire, betrayal and broken promises. Brimming with passion and drama, Thorn in My Heart brings the past to vibrant life, revealing spiritual truths that transcend time and penetrate the deepest places of the heart.

An Enduring Story

Perhaps this tale of two brothers and two sisters sounds vaguely familiar…and no wonder! The lives of Jacob and Esau, Leah and Rachel can be found in Genesis 25 and 27-29. After carefully studying those passages of Scripture, then thoroughly researching eighteenth-century Scotland, I wrote Thorn in My Heart, hoping I might demonstrate the timeless nature of God’s truth. May their ancient stories set in bonny Galloway ring true for you!

Fair Is The Rose — book 2

Can a sister’s love endure the ultimate betrayal?

A year has come and gone since Jamie McKie fled for his life and arrived at Auchengray in search of sanctuary and a bonny wife. Young Rose McBride, as fair as any lass in Scotland, dearly loves her handsome cousin, Jamie McKie—but so does her older sister, Leana.

Desperate to have Jamie all to herself, Rose is unwittingly aided by Lillias Brown, a wise woman—a wutch,some say—still keen on the old ways. Leana cherishes her newborn son and clings to her hard-won sense of peace by a slender thread of faith. Jamie, meanwhile, longs to return home to Glentrool, yet is thwarted at every turn by his uncle Lachlan’s deceitful ways.

All three points of this thorny triangle soon grow as sharp as a Scottish dirk. Och, such heartache! And yet, amid the conflicts, hope burns bright.

Whence Came A Prince — book 3

A Prodigal Hero Returns . . .

Och, what a finale! Jamie McKie’s long-awaited return to his ancestral home of Glentrool tests the depth of his courage, the strength of his sword, and the tenacity of his vow to honor the Almighty, no matter the cost.

To claim his inheritance, Jamie must first outwit his devious uncle, Lachlan, then confront the two men he fears most: Evan, the brother whose blessing he stole, and Alec, the father he once deceived.

Jamie faces a perilous journey of the heart as well: The two women in his life, Leana and Rose McBride, each stake a tender claim on his affections. Quiet, gentle Leana is the mother of his firstborn, Ian. And Rose, her spirited younger sister, is expecting his second child. Honor and duty prevail but not without heartache. By the last page, tears of sorrow will turn to tears of joy as the story ends on the happiest of notes.

Historical detail and ageless truth are woven into a colorful tartan of a tale in Whence Came a Prince. Early readers have proclaimed Prince “the best of the three.” When you read this finale, I hope you’ll agree!


About The Author:

In her best-selling series of Bad Girls of the Bible books, workbooks, and videos, Liz Curtis Higgs breathes new life into ancient tales about the most infamous—and intriguing—women in scriptural history, from Jezebel to Mary Magdalene. Biblically sound and cutting-edge fresh, these popular titles have helped more than one million women around the world experience God’s grace anew. Her best-selling historical novels, which transport the stories of Rebecca, Leah, Rachel, Dinah, Naomi, and Ruth to eighteenth-century Scotland, have also helped her readers view these familiar characters in a new light. And her nonfiction book, Embrace Grace, winner of a 2007 Retailers Choice Award, presents her message of hope in an engaging and personal way, speaking directly to the hearts of her readers.

A veteran speaker, Liz has presented more than 1,600 encouraging programs for audiences in all 50 states and 11 foreign countries:  South Africa, Indonesia, Germany, France, England, Canada, Thailand, Ecuador, Scotland, Portugal, and New Zealand. In 1995, she received the Council of Peers Award for Excellence from the National Speakers Association, becoming one of only 32 women in the world named to their CPAE-Speaker Hall of Fame.

Feature articles about Liz have appeared in more than 250 major newspapers and magazines across the country, as well as online, and She has also been interviewed on more than 600 radio and television stations, including guest appearances on PBS, A&E, MSNBC, NPR, TBN with Kirk Cameron, CBC Canada, BBC Radio Scotland, Rhema Broadcasting New Zealand, Radio Pulpit South Africa, LifeToday with James Robison, Focus on the FamilyJanet Parshall’s America, 100 Huntley Street and Midday Connection.

Liz is the author of twenty-seven books, with more than three million copies in print.

Her nonfiction books for women include:
• Bad Girls of the Bible
• Really Bad Girls of the Bible
• Unveiling Mary Magdalene
• Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible
• Rise and Shine
• Embrace Grace
• My Heart’s in the Lowlands

Her fiction includes two contemporary novels, one novella, and five historical novels:

• Mixed Signals

• Bookends
• Fine Print
• Thorn in My Heart
• Fair Is the Rose
• Whence Came a Prince
• Grace in Thine Eyes
• Here Burns My Candle

And she has written five books for young children :

• The Pumpkin Patch Parable
• The Parable of the Lily
• The Sunflower Parable
• The Pine Tree Parable
• Go Away, Dark Night

Her children’s Parable Series was awarded the ECPA Gold Medallion for Excellence in 1998, her Scottish historical novel, Whence Came a Prince, won the 2006 Christy Award for Best Historical Fiction, and Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible received a 2008 Retailers Choice Award.

For ten years Liz was a columnist for Today’s Christian Woman magazine. Articles by Liz have also appeared in Faith&Friends in Canada, Woman Alive in Great Britain, and Enhance in Australia. And more than 4,000 churches nationwide are using her video Bible study series, Loved by God.

On the personal side, Liz earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Bellarmine College, and is married to Bill Higgs, Ph.D., who serves as Director of Operations for her speaking and writing office. Liz and Bill enjoy their old Kentucky home—a nineteenth-century farmhouse in Louisville—and are the proud parents of Matthew, a college grad, and Lillian, a college senior.

%d bloggers like this: