Licensed For Trouble

12 Aug

PJ Sugar receives shocking news that she’s inherited the Kellogg family mansion. Though she has no idea why, the timing is perfect-PJ has clearly worn out her welcome at her sister’s house. Unfortunately, the mansion is in shambles, and PJ is short on cash. Rescue comes in the form of Max Smith, a mysterious handyman willing to trade his services for PJ’s investigative skills. But PJ already has a full docket with cramming for her PI license and nurturing a growing romance with her boss, Jeremy Kane. Can she take on Max’s case without dropping the ball?

Susan May Warren is the award-winning author of seventeen novels and novellas with Tyndale, Steeple Hill and Barbour Publishing. Her first book, Happily Ever After won the American Fiction Christian Writers Book of the Year in 2003, and was a 2003 Christy Award finalist. In Sheep’s Clothing, a thriller set in Russia, was a 2006 Christy Award finalist and won the 2006 Inspirational Reader’s Choice award. A former missionary to Russia, Susan May Warren now writes Suspense/Romance and Chick Lit full time from her home in northern Minnesota.

My Impressions:

I knew I would like Susan May Warren’s Licensed For Trouble from the first paragraph.  Then after a few more pages I knew I loved it!  In the third installment of the PJ Sugar series, aspiring PI, PJ is tracking down a bail skipper and the identity of a mysterious amnesiac turned handyman. In the process, PJ discovers more of who she is and who she can be.  This book is fast-paced, witty, and endearing.  A really fun read.

Some have written that Warren’s PJ Sugar books are a Christian answer to Jo Evanovitch’s Stephanie Plum.  But I say, while there are similarities between the two characters, Warren’s offerings are far superior. PJ’s character has a depth not often found in this genre.  The other characters are also well-developed, with a realness to them.  As I said in an earlier post you are what you read, so with so little time and so many books, be choosy!  Choose PJ Sugar!

So start with the first book in the series — Nothing But Trouble —  and progress to #2 — Double Trouble.  Then you’ll be all set for Licensed For Trouble.

What to read after you’ve finished this series?  We have Warren’s Son’s Of Thunder in the library — a great historical/suspense book. Also, check out Mindy Starns Clark’s 3-part Smart Chick series starring Jo Tulip and Sharon Dunn’s Ruby Taylor Mysteries trilogy.  That’s 10 books to keep you busy for at least a couple of months!

Highly Recommended.

To purchase a copy of Licensed For Trouble, click here.

To see more reviews, click here.

(Thanks to Susan May Warren and Litfuse Publicity Group for giving me a copy of Licensed For Trouble to review.  The opinions expressed are mine alone.)

One Response to “Licensed For Trouble”


  1. August Book Reviews « RBC Library Blog - September 1, 2010

    […] Licensed For Trouble by Susan May Warren […]

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: